Back to All Events

4th ASTM Symposium on Structural Integrity of Additive Manufactured Materials and Parts

  • Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 201 Waterfront Street Oxon Hill, MD, 20745 United States (map)


Papers are invited for ASTM fourth Symposium on Structural Integrity of Additive Manufactured Parts to be held on October 8-10, 2019. The symposium is sponsored by ASTM Additive Manufacturing Center of Excellence (AM CoE) and co-sponsored by technical committees:

  • B09 Metal Powders and Metal Powder Products

  • D20 Plastics

  • D30 Composite Materials

  • E07 on Nondestructive Testing

  • E08 on Fatigue and Fracture

  • F04 on Medical and Surgical Materials and Devices

  • F42 on Additive Manufacturing Technologies

Additionally, the symposium is supported by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), Food & Drug Administration (FDA) and European Structural Integrity Society (ESIS) TC15.


To ensure the structural integrity of additively manufactured parts, there is a need for establishing process-structure-property-performance relationships; specifically, where these components and structures are being used in safety critical applications. This event will provide a forum for the exchange of ideas regarding the structural integrity of parts fabricated using additive manufacturing with a focus on the lack of industry standards, design principals, as well as qualification and certification challenges. The materials of interest include metals, polymers, composites, and ceramics. This event is designed for professionals within the AM community including industry, academia and government agencies.

Topics for the symposium include, but are not limited to:

  • Feedstock and materials related effects

  • Effect of influencing factors (surface, geometry, post-processing, etc.)

  • Process optimization to improve the performance 

  • Microstructure-property predictive models

  • Multiscale modeling of the mechanical behavior

  • Fatigue, fracture, tensile, wear, corrosion, creep of fabricated materials 

  • Effect of anomalies and acceptance criteria

  • Nondestructive evaluation and inspection issues

  • Applicability of existing test methods

  • Development of new test methods

  • Special requirements for sector specific standards

  • Qualification and certification challenges

Sessions will be organized based on sector specific applications defined in the newly created F42 sub-committee that captures below sectors:

  • Aviation

  • Spaceflight

  • Medical/Biological

  • Transportation/Heavy Machinery

  • Maritime

  • Electronics

  • Construction

  • Oil/Gas

  • Consumer
    The language of the symposium will be English.

To participate in the symposium, authors must submit a 200-250 word preliminary abstract using the online Abstract Submittal Form no later than May 31th, 2019.

Student papers will be automatically entered into the ASTM AM COE Student Presentation Competition 

  • Student will be reimbursed for their accommodation up to $1,000 per room (each two students should share a room and for up to 4 nights)

  • The 1st, 2nd and 3rd place winners will receive $500, $300, $200 honorarium respectively and a plaque.


The resulting publication of this symposium will be a volume of Selected Technical Papers (STP).  All submitted papers will be peer-reviewed to determine their acceptance into the STP. Upon publication, a DOI number will be assigned to each manuscript, and therefore, all papers will be listed on the major indexes and are citable. 

  • Each symposium participant will receive a copy of the STP book in mail. Each corresponding author should also expect to receive two manuscripts to review.

  • Submitting a paper to STP for student presentations is optional.

For more information and abstract submittal please visit You can email for any additional question that you might have.


Click Here to learn more about becoming a sponsor for this event.

Sponsoring Organizations

Supporting Organizations

Symposium Co-Chairs

Additional information about the symposium is available from the Symposium Co-Chairmen:

Nima Shamsaei

Auburn University


Tel: 334-844-4839

Mohsen Seifi

ASTM International


Tel: 202-650-9248

2019 Scientific & Technical Committee (STC):

  • Anil Sachdev, General Motors

  • Ben Dutton, MTC

  • Charles Park, Boeing

  • Chee Kai, SUTD

  • Chris Holshouser, NIAR

  • Doug Wells, NASA

  • Filipo Berto, NTNU

  • Frank Medina, EWI

  • Johannes Gumpinger, ESA

  • Matthew DiPrima, FDA

  • Matthew Donovan, Oerlikon

  • Michael Gorelik, FAA

  • Mohsen Seifi, ASTM International

  • Nik Hrabi, NIST

  • Nima Shamsaei, Auburn University

  • Rachael Andrulonis, NIAR

  • Rod McMillan, Johnson & Johnson

  • Stefano Beretta, Polytechnic of Milan

  • Steve Daniewicz, UA

  • Thomas Niendorf, University of Kassel 

  • Tony Thornton, Micromeritics Instrument

  • Richard Russel, NASA

Additional information may be found at

Download the information packet